New Jersey | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
Education
I studied part-time at Ramapo College in NJ for
over 10 years. I had a contract major which was confirmed by my advisor. Although he left the college due to illness and never processed the required papers, he wrote a letter to the college confirming that I had indeed pursued the major.
Even though I would graduate with honors and belonged to an international honor society, the college refused to grant me a degree. I had nearly 170 credits, took mostly 400 level classes and was recognized as an excellent student.
I tried to seek help through a law firm that a friend works for in NYC. They called NJ legal specialists in the area of education and they said that their offices were full of similar cases. They said there was a obscure law that allowed colleges to refuse to grant a degree to contract majors should they choose to do so.
What recourse do I have in a situation like this?


