New Jersey  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
3/05/10, 9:29 am

Legal Question


I had someone file a frivolous lawsuit against my custom auto business. I had done some work on his car and he took it back for someone else to do some additional work. Over a year later he asked for me to do some more work on it. I told him I would, but he would have to wait until I finished the cars I was working on. He continually pressured me to take to car in and started to threaten me with a lawsuit! When that happened I told him I would not work on it any more under those conditions. He filed a lawsuit against me. I hired an attorney and took all the paperwork to him. I never heard anything else until I received a notice that a judgment of $27,000 had been entered against me as I failed to appear it court! My attorney dropped the ball. He doesn't return my phone calls. Now I received an "information subpoena" by regular mail requesting financial information. I can't afford this. What can I do? Please help, this is so unfair.


question bubble
3/10/10, 10:09 am

Legal Answer


First, you should try to have the default judgment set aside so that you can raise your defenses in the matter. Once that has been done, you can address the matter of whether you have a claim against the attorney. To get the default lifted, you will have to act promptly. Arrange to see a lawyer as soon as you can. ¶ My firm handles matters of this type. If I can be of further help to you, call or email. ¶ See also: http://info.corbettlaw.net/lawguru.htm

John Corbett

Corbett Law Firm LLC 303 Walnut Ave. Evesham, NJ 08053-7016

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
3/10/10, 10:27 am

Legal Answer


I agree with the first lawyer to answer you.

Call me if you like.

Gary Moore

Gary Moore Attorney At Law 31 Mercer Street P.O. Box 1280 Hackensack, NJ 07602-1280

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search