New Jersey  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
6/18/01, 10:55 am

Legal Question


Stepmom bought shoes for Stepkids and Bio-Mom returned shoes for cash

I recently found out from my stepchildren that their mother had taken the three pairs of shoes I bought for them back to the store for a refund and pocketed the cash. When I confronted her, she lied and said she exchanged the shoes I bought for different shoes because the ones I bought for the children were too big, so she said. I kept the tags and the receipt from the shoes and know that they were not too big. Nevertheless, I told her she had no right returning a gift I bought for the children and I either wanted the shoes back(which the children could wear while at their father’s house) or I wanted to be reimbursed for the three pairs of shoes. She refused. I’ve sent her a letter (certified mail) in this regard and it has been ignored. The total amount of the three pairs of shoes is less than $50, however, she has done similar things like this in the past, and just for principals alone, I want her to be made accountable. Do I have a case?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search