New Jersey  |  Immigration Law

question bubble
11/17/09, 4:00 pm

Legal Question


i am filling i864 for my wife and my income for 2008 is $21,000. but while filling the form it just realized that i have given joint affidavet of support to my friend about 5 years ago and he has green card. if i add him on my house hold work sheet i am about $1800 short of requirment. but i am a business owner and have 33% share in business and in our business account we have $180,000 where my part is $60,000 how can i show this cash as my assets or i shouldn't add my friend under my house hold. plz help me out

thanks in advance


question bubble
11/22/09, 9:51 pm

Legal Answer


You can use your personal assets to supplement income (not business assets).

If you’d like to schedule a telephone or email legal consultation, or need advice or help, please let me know, and I’d be glad to help you: Attorney [@] law-visa-usa.com or LubaSmal [@] yahoo.com .

Note: The above response is provided for legal information purposes only and should not be considered as legal advice. This response doesn’t create an attorney-client relationship, which can only be established through payment of a fee. If you request a follow-up confidential advice on your specific situation and regarding U.S.A. immigration-related issues, we can offer a paid consultation by telephone or email to clients from all States and globally. Please visit our website http://www.law-visa-usa.com/contact_us.html for more details. Our contact email address is Attorney [@] law-visa-USA.com

Luba Smal

Smal Immigration Law Office PO Box 540531 Omaha, NE 68154

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/30/09, 11:25 am

Legal Answer


I would need additional information regarding your particular case before I could comment on it properly.

However, what I can say is that you should list your yearly income on the form. You should also include the fact that you are part owner of a business. In so doing you can also provide documentation to prove your part ownership in the business. You can also include the business' bank statement.

Patricia Martin-Gibbons

Sent from my Verizon Wireless

Antoinette Wooten

The Wooten Legal Consulting, PC 233 Broadway/ The Woolworth Bldg. New York City, NY 10279-0599

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search