New Jersey | Immigration Law
Legal Question
I had a son in another country and then i moved back to usa...i was born in usa but i never made him a citizen ...now hes 29 yrs old howv can i do it?
I had a son in another country and then i moved back to usa...i was born in usa but i never made him a citizen ...now hes 29 yrs old howv can i do it?
|
Read More Answered By: Luba Smal |
Depending on how long have you lived in the USA, and specifically after age 14, your son may be a US citizen by birth. I understand that you never contacted the US embassy in the country of your son's birth.
What do you mean you moved back to USA after giving birth to a son abroad? Did you leave him abroad, or if you took him to USA (on what passport)?
Please let me know if you would like to schedule a consultation.
Note: The above response is provided for legal information purposes only and should not be considered as legal advice. This response doesn’t create an attorney-client relationship, which can only be established through payment of a fee. If follow-up advice or consultation on your specific situation is requested, we offer a paid consultation by telephone or email. Please visit our website http://www.law-visa-usa.com/contact_us.html for more details. Our contact email address is Attorney [@] law-visa-USA.com
|
|
Read More Answered By: Antoinette Wooten |
I would need more information regarding your particular case before I could comment on it properly.
However, when you say you “moved back to the USA” were you born in the US?
If the answer is yes, then your son would have an automatic right because he has a parent who is a US citizen.
Why did'nt you apply for your son when you first brought him into the country?
If you are a “Nationalized US citizen” then you would have to petition for your son by filing an application with the immigration service. This too you could have done once you became a US citizen.
Patricia Martin-Gibbons
|
Tinton Falls, Newark, Toms Riv, NJ
Questions Answered: 4416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Long Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 1043
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 357
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 255
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-09
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 137
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-15
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 127
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-04-02
New York,
Questions Answered: 111
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-06-21
Bethlehem, PA
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-11
► I went to the US as a green card holder last july2008- april2009 (9months).Then i...
► My employer has submitted H1B file..after that we got the RFE (regarding New form...
► HI I have immigration question. I came to the USA 8 years ago,the court granted me...
► Hello, I have a AOS pending at VSC , I have an valid AP till Nov 09 2009, I have...
► My wife (U.S. Citizen) filed an I-130 alien relative petition for her brother (in...
► What do you do when you have an uncle who was born in Panama but has been in the US...
► How an i get help paying for a replacement perment resident card my walllet was...
More Immigration Law questions and answers in New Jersey| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press