Legal Question in Insurance Law in New Jersey

Rental Car Coverage

Recently, I was involved in a fender-bender type accident. The brake lines of a car driving behind me broke and the vehicle damaged the rear of my vehicle (about $3500 of damage) when I had to slow down. According to the police this accident was clearly caused by my opponent. The repair of my vehicle took 36 days because parts were not available immediately (I drive a Honda Accord). I had a rental car for the same amount of time and expected to be fully reimbursed for the cost of the repair and the car rental. However, my insurance told me that I am only covered for 30 days of car rental and would not pay for the remaining 6 days. The same insurance company insures my opponent and me. In order to recover the difference, do I have to go after the insurance company or the person that caused the damage?

Asked on 10/12/01, 4:44 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Steven Murray Steven W. Murray, APC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Rental Car Coverage

Sue the driver of the other car for all amounts you lost (your total damages) which you did not obtain from your own insurer.

Read more
11/22/01, 10:26 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Insurance Law questions and answers in New Jersey

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8787 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Insurance Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now