New Jersey | Employment Law
Legal Question
Salary
Is it legal to have a salary cap? In other words, can a company dock your pay for working less then 40 hours, but not pay you for anything over 40 hours?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Adam L. Rothenberg |
Re: Salary The short answer is no. Unless you are a salaried employee, you are paid for your hours. It is possible that in certain slaried positions, there is no overtime, but failure to complete your hours could lead to a reduction in salary. It depends on the status of your job and class of job. If you have a question about the applicability to you, I suggest you contact your local State Employment Commission. |
Top Attorneys in NJ
Law Offices of Jef Henninger, Esq.
Tinton Falls, Newark, Toms Riv, NJ
Questions Answered: 4416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
The Davies Law Firm, P.A.
Hackensack, NJ
Questions Answered: 3594
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Corbett Law Firm LLC
Evesham, NJ
Questions Answered: 2017
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Locksley O. Wade
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1703
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-27
Law Office of Stephen R. Loeb
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1674
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-09-02
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Cevallos & Wong, LLP
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
The Wooten Legal Consulting, PC
New York City, NY
Questions Answered: 848
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Real World Law, P.C.
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Search Questions and Answers


