New Jersey | Employment Law
Legal Question
I have been working in the same field for 20+ years without interruption. After 3 yrs with the last employer I was fired. In the last year I was working in a newly formed unit and my direct manager was pretty abusive (verbally & in writing), plus she has a difficult personality. She was promoted to that position without having the managerial skills. After a few people complained to HR, she was sent to a 2 days course in management. For a few weeks of a calm period, she started acting the same old way. When I was terminated, the employer made me sign a release agreement based on which in exchange of a severance pay I promise not to sue. After approx 1 month I still have not received the check. Also, I sent a few emails to HR requesting the 401K rollover papers, which they have not sent either. How much longer should I wait, and what course of action should I take. Thank you for your help in this matter.


