New Jersey | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
Greetings,
I had built a favorable rapport with a new tenant, (I am a new landlord) that is now affected by a bad decision on his part: My tenant forced himself into a locked room in my rental property: luxury, top of the line, three story home in a condo setting with all new European toilets, all new appliances, all new carpeting, all new fixtures (plumbing and faucets), new glass and metal front storm door, new metal patio table and chairs, new outside lighting features, and ~all new first floor walk out suite: bathroom, kitchen, bedroom). My tenant was so thoroughly impressed with the uniqueness of my home, he bought all new furniture for his time in my rental home.
Further, my rental features high end internal architectural details. My tenant's friend made repairs to the heater. The tenant claimed the heater stopped in the wee hours of the winter, and he couldn't get a hold of me. Prior to this, we have been in communication by phone, and returned each other's calls promptly; he has my phone numbers.
The lease he signed clearly specifies he must not gain entry to that room, must contact me with any concerns (I live only three miles away ). It clearly specifies that he is not to make any modifications to that room or any other area. In our overall civil, in person conversation when I picked up the rent this month, (his payments are on time), I calmly informed him that he violated the lease, and my insurance coverage on the heater may now be in jeopardy, based on the undetermined condition, and what his friend did to my insured heater.
He also removed a new metal hood above the new stove in the main kitchen, discarded it, and replaced it with a new microwave. This was also done without my authorization.
Please advise. I appreciate your time and courtesy.
Philip in NJ


