New Jersey  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
6/28/09, 2:12 pm

Legal Question


Illegal Basement Apartment

I have been living in this illegal basement apartment for 17 years. I am moving in September and I told my landlord who owns the house and lives upstairs that I wasn't going to be paying my rent so I could save my money for moving. The landlord told me that if I didn't pay the rent he would put a lock on the door and lock me out. Is this legal


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search