Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in New Jersey

I've been late on my rent about three times in the past year since I've lived in the complex and always paid it without issue. This past time, I decided to investigate how the late fee was calculated. The leasing manager said the late fee is 10% of the past due amount. I was fine with that until I thoroughly read through my lease and found that it says, "Late Charge: 10.00, Daily late fee: 0.00, NSF Charge: 50.00" (Notice there is no dollar sign and no mention of percentage of past due amount, etc.)

I inquired with the leasing office again on where I can find this information about the 10% late fee charge in the lease and they told me I can find that on page 1 in the same location I'd been looking. Since there is no mention of percentage or dollar sign, would it be safe to assume the late charge is really supposed to be $10.00? And in that case, does that mean the complex has gone against the terms of the lease and owes me money?

Asked on 8/12/13, 8:01 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Matthew Schutz Matthew R. Schutz, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

It is a question of who drafted the document. It would be construed against the drafter

Read more
Answered on 8/13/13, 8:57 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in New Jersey

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88953 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now