New Jersey  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
12/21/09, 5:42 pm

Legal Question


Are there any lawyers on here that are familiar with New Jersey Tenant Law? About 2 1/2 years ago I moved into an apartment with a couple of friends. At that time, we signed a 12 month lease, after which it became a "month to month" lease. I moved out after my 15th month there. However, my 2 friends chose to stay there and pick up my portion of the rent. At the time when we signed the lease, we had to pay a security deposit equal to one month's rent (my portion was $700). The landlord informed me that I had to ask my roomates for that money, and that she could not give me the money back unless all three of us moved out. This doesn't seem correct to me. Over a year later, I am still trying to get this money back. It would seem fair that the landlord should have to do a "walk-through" of the apartment, determine damages, divide those damages by 3, subtract that amount from $700, and send me a check for that amount. Can someone please tell me what the law is behind this? -shawn


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search