New Jersey  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
9/27/07, 2:05 pm

Legal Question


lease renewal and rent increase

My landlord has increased my rent 8% in my new lease, the apartment complex I am in is under construction, the living conditions are horrible and there is constant noise all the time, I have no privacy as there are workmen walking past my windows all the time, I have been without electricity and water for hours at a time and they have cut my cable 8xs which left me with no tv or internet for days at a time, last year my rent went up 7 1/2 %, when I had first moved in here the rent only went up 2 1/2 %, also I am supposed to have access to a pool which I have not had for 2 years..I have a month to month lease, can I not sign the new lease and not pay the increase? what are my rights?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search