New Jersey  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
11/14/09, 12:35 pm

Legal Question


My mother's Property Manager for New Community Corp. sent her a letter stating that we have to relocate to a smaller unit immedately. We currently live in a three bedroom unit, and we are on subsidy rent. We don't have any money save up but her Property Manager Wants Us out now. The letter we have doesn't gives us a date as to when we have to move. We pay our rent on time every month and I don't think its fare. I told her the Property Manager that we was suppose to get a 90-days notices. The Propert Manager said thats is not what written on our lease, but there nothing on our least about it. It is legal to ask us to leave our resident without prior notices?


question bubble
11/19/09, 12:51 pm

Legal Answer


Your lease can not be terminated, except for a violation of the terms of your lease or based on

the misconduct of the tenants. To remove you from your apartment the property manager would

have to file an action in the county landlord/tenant court and prove a violation of the terms of the

lease or your misconduct.

Call me if you like.

Gary Moore

Gary Moore Attorney At Law 31 Mercer Street P.O. Box 1280 Hackensack, NJ 07602-1280

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/19/09, 3:56 pm

Legal Answer


What your property manager said seems all wrong.

You need a lawyer to help you. Call me, and plan on showing me all of your documents, lease and rent receipts.

You probably can not pay me. Don't worry, just come see me, and we will talk for a short while.

Robert Davies

The Davies Law Firm, P.A. 45 Essex Street, Suite 3 West Hackensack, NJ 07601

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search