Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in New Jersey

I put a deposit and first month rent for an apartment i wanted next month. After going there to move some things for one day i saw the environment was not at all a good place for my two year old. It was infested with big crowds sitting in front, constant traffic and drug addicts in the hallway. I called right away and said i no longer wanted the apartment. I have not signed the lease yet and the month i was scheduled to start living there has not yet started. Am i entitled to a refund of my deposit and first month rent?

Asked on 6/29/13, 4:41 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Matthew Schutz Matthew R. Schutz, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Yes you are. Since you did not sign the lease, there is no obligation to the LL.

Read more
Answered on 6/30/13, 5:54 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in New Jersey

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now