New Jersey | Legal Ethics
Legal Question
I had retained a laywer back in January to handle my divorce. I have been trying to contact him for months regarding this. I have left voicemails as well as visited his office. The voicemail box is usually full and noone is ever at the office to answer me. Last contact with him was in March, he stated that he had filed a hardship and that my court date was in July. I called him over 100 times to find out if I had to appear and what the process was. Never heard from him. I called the court system this week and asked them what was going on. Apparently he only filed for the divorce in February and has done nothing since. He has lied to me and avoided me for months. I am frustrated and I would like to know the law in New Jersey and what can I do to get my paperwork back from him so that I may retain a professional lawyer and go through with this divorce. This is beyond ridiculous and very unethical. I would also like to report him to the courts.


