New Jersey | Legal Malpractice
legal Malpractice?
I just fired our lawyer,and he wont give us our files.He was handling3seperate car accidents,(he had a total of 5 cases with my family).He told my auto insurance that I accepted their settlement offer,but I didnt.I asked to go to trial since last Oct.He said if I wont sign release papers then he will lie in court and tell the Judge that I signed a settlement offer.His partner was present when I told the lawyer I Wont take their offer.He said he will make his partner sware I did except it.He also said I am responsible to handle my own pip suit with a lawyer he hired to do it for him.I also had a Dr file a claim for my car accident medical bills that the insurance didnt pay.They told me dont file an answer they would call the lawyer to appeal it since nj law says its illegal to attempt to collect from patient.My lawyer did nothing now I have a judgement on me.How can I find a lawyer to take my cases(cases r old so its hard to find a lawyer to take them)and also a malpractice lawyer.Even though he's fired he's bullying me to sign this release to a settlement I NEVER accepted.My trial was last month and he told courts to cancell trial without my permission.If no lawyer takes our cases then what can we do to settle them?Please Help Thx


