New Jersey | Legal Malpractice
Do I have a malpractice case?
My 19 year-old daughter came to live with me after being thrown out by her mom. I hired a lawyer to get me child support and tuition from my ex-wife. Basically to reverse agreement we had 3 years before. I spent $10K in legal fees. After lawyer pu petition at three different jurisdictions, it wasn't filed for 6 months, so I permanently lost $6K in child support. It took another 6 months to resolve,. During which my ex-wife's lawyer claimed my lawyer tried to blackmail her and didn't give her my financial information. On the basis of not giving financial info in time the judge didn't allow me legal fees I asked for since it dragged out so long.I provided my lawyer with all info she requested, often on same day. I found out the agreement I signed 3 years ago, using the same lawyer, never got filed at court. I paid support for years without a legal agreement. My lawyer says that was the other lawyers fault. There are a slew of other errors. My exwife has 4 years to pay back support and tuition. My daughter will have graduated two years before that. I think my lawyer was incompetent. I have a paper trail of everything since we mostly corresponded by email. Would a lawyer take my case on contingency? Could I represent myself? - Thanks.


