New Jersey  |  Mediation

question bubble
10/27/06, 8:53 am

Legal Question


Small claims with an out of state defendant

Is it possible to take someone to small claims court if they do not live in your state? A ''friend'' of mine is on my cell phone contract and owes me about $600 in unpaid phone bills. He moved to Oklahoma without telling me, and now does not answer my calls (I live in NJ). I would like to reclaim the missing cash I have had to pay to keep my phone active, but I don't know his exact address, only the town where he now lives. Is there any way around this?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search