New Jersey | Medical Malpractice
Legal Question
was my mother's cancer misdiagnosed?
sir: my mother had been under a cardiologist's care for congestive heart failure for 1 1/2 years - hospitalized 3 times and treated with diuretics and accompanying regimens. In sept 2003 we realized she was not improving so we switched to another cardiologist. he noticed a lump on her back the 1st cardiologist had dismissed as a diabetic cyst and mentioned to my mother that ''maybe you should have that looked at by a surgeon but its probably nothing'' 2nd cardiologist scheduled an emergency biopsy which determined the lump to be cancerous. Immediately went to an oncologist who realized that the lump was present on CAT scan film 8 -9 months prior and also noted that a radiology report from 4 months later recommended a cystology check for cancer which was not brought to our attention. The oncologist told my family that the tumor was so widespread that the only thing they could offer was pallative care. My mother entered the hospital in respiratory distress on dec. 27, was deemed terminal, began experience severe pain requiring a morphine infusion on jan 6th and passed away on the 7th. Does this sound like the 1st doctor misdiagnosed her condition and a case of medical malpractice exists?


