New Jersey  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
8/05/01, 11:04 pm

Legal Question


Injuries suffered because of the negligence of other parties.

Kim works on a construction site. She picked up a large stack of boards and was carrying them over to another worker when she tripped over a dog that had run onto the site. She fell hurting herself and the dog. The dog had been walking with its owner but was not on a leash. Kim's coworker Bubba heard the thud and turned around. When he saw who had fallen, he said, ''that's why girls don't belong working at construction sites.''

Kim wants money for her injuries and missed work. She also wants to know if anything can be done about Bubba and his sexist comments. Can Kim recoup her losses other than suing?

1. What people or entities can Kim potentially sue?

2. For what can Kim sue each of the above? For each potential defendant and each potential cause of action state the elements of the cause of action and why you believe that Kim can prove them.

3. Are there any government programs that Kim can recoup her losses under without suing?

4.

A. Are there any applicable NJ state and/or Federal statues? If so what are they?

B. Find cases with similar fact patterns and use these fact patterns to support the

proposition that the plaintiff should win or lose.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search