New Jersey | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Hi, I was opening a new business. The landlord knew what the business was. I checked with the town to see what the building was zoned for. It was zoned for retail use only. I was looking to open up a service in the space, so I wasn't sure if my service would be considered retail or not, since I was selling a service. Since I checked with the town, I asked the landlord specifically if I would be allowed to open there and get approval by the zoning board, cause I didn't think I would. He told me that my service would be allowed, and they just didn't want offices being put in there. So we were going to go ahead and do the deal. They got a higher offer, and backed out. A couple weeks later they called me back asking me if I was still interested cause it didn't work out with the other person. I told them yes, but are they sure I would be approved by the zoning board. They again said yes. Needless to say I signed the contract, and gave two months security deposit. When I went to get it approved by the zoning board the town turned me down. I want to get my money back. The contract did say in it that the landlords weren't responsible for any zoning problems and stuff. But I only signed it based on what they said. Am I entitled to any money back? Thanks guys


