New Jersey  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
10/28/09, 11:36 pm

Legal Question


In the process of purchasing a home, title revealed judgment that couldnt be paid lender denied loan seller/sellers attorney refuse to release deposit monies held in escrow my attorney has made calls and sent email letters in this regard. My attorney who was charging 1700 for a closing that obviously is not taking place says that I owe him money. How much is he allowed to charge for something like this. I have no retainer agreement or anything signed and have no idea what his fee will be because we were only quoted a closing fee. Is this ethical for him to charge and if so, what is a reasonable amount in an instance like this!


question bubble
11/06/09, 3:55 pm

Legal Answer


Call the county bar association and ask for information for filing for fee arbitration of the attorney's fee.

Gary Moore

Gary Moore Attorney At Law 31 Mercer Street P.O. Box 1280 Hackensack, NJ 07602-1280

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search