New Jersey | Traffic Law
Legal Question
My dad, 80, went to a mall, at 7pm, dark here in NJ. He pulled into a vacant parking spot. He went in for a card, came out 7 mins later to a mall cop giving him a ticket for parking in a handicap parking space. He asked why he was being ticketed, was told he had parked in a handicap space. My dad pointed out that there was no sign that said is was a handicaped space. The officer said that no, there was no sign, but that my dad should have seen the blue paint. My dad responded? What blue paint? They both looked on the ground, and? The officer had to return to his car to get a flashlight! Neither of them could see the "blue" paint! He would not take back the ticket. I took my dad to the mall office a few weeks later, after the judge allowed him pursue a not guilty plea, and asked for the paperwork stating as to when they replaced the sign. Yes, they had replaced it after my dads ticket. They have refused to furnish said paperwork, Now what?


