New Jersey | Traffic Law
Legal Question
In New Jersey... I was caught in a road-block-style police stop for the purpose of catching motorists not wearing seatbelts. The local police utilized a "Hidden Spotter" located about a city block BEFORE the roadblock check point to identify motorists who were not wearing their seatbelts.The "Spotter radioed ahead to the roadblock informing the checkpoint officer about the motorists' seatbelt status. Those motorists not wearing seatbelts were herded into a gated impound area.The police in the impound proceeded to ticket those who were not wearing seatbelts. I have heard from various NJ law eforcement personnel who have told me that all police MUST be in plain view in order for a traffic stop to be ethical and legal. Does a "Hidden Spotter", described above, make such a traffic stop illegal in New Jersey? Does this type of setup constitute police entrapment???????
Thanks in advance for your response!
George H.


