New Jersey | Traffic Law
8/24/10, 2:09 pm
Legal Question
is a first time dwi in new jersey considered a misdemeanor?
is a first time dwi in new jersey considered a misdemeanor?
|
Read More Answered By: Robert Gleaner |
No, it's considered a first offense DWI |
|
Read More Answered By: Ronald Aronds |
No, it is a violation of the New Jersey traffic code. However, it does carry heavy penalties icluding thousands of dollars in fines and MVC surcharges, loss of your driving privileges for up to a year, possible community service, possible jail time, and mandatory traffic school. If you are charged with DWI I would urge you to consult with a lawyer. Please contact me if you would like to discuss your case in more detail. I never charge for simply talking to a person about their case. Thank you. Sincerely yours, -Ronald Aronds, Esq.- 908-272-0111 www.njworkerscompensationlaw.com |
|
Read More Answered By: Jonathan Mincis |
In New jersey a D W I is not a criminal offense. it is considered what is known as a Quasi Criminal Offense under the New Jersey traffic code. It is still very serious and carries very serious consequences. depending on the facts, you could be looking at a loss of your driving privleges between 7 to 12 months, up to 2 years if it occurred in a school zone. The fines are high, the judge could based his or her discretion sentence someone to up to 30 days in jail (60 if in a school zone), but facing jail time on a first offense is rare. There is also possible community service and you must attend classes at a program known as the IDRC. There are potential defenses depending on the circumstances. If you took an alco test and the reading is only between .08 and .10 the suspension is three months. again what you face depends on the facts. There are other serious consequences like being assessed a $1,000.00 a year surcharge for the next three years from the DMV, insurance points. It is serious enough that it would pay to get a lawyer. i would be happy to talk to you about it more at length if you like, I never charge a fee for just speaking to someone. (201)-894-9498 |
Hackensack, NJ
Questions Answered: 5393
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Tinton Falls, Newark, Toms Riv, NJ
Questions Answered: 4416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Hackensack, NJ
Questions Answered: 3594
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Cranford, NJ
Questions Answered: 1621
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-03
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
Audubon, NJ
Questions Answered: 1218
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
Englewood Cliffs, NJ
Questions Answered: 630
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
► I was in an accident received a sumons for uninsured vehicle when in fact the...
► Should I fight my parking ticket? I live in a small city that doesn't allow...
► Is it a mandatory 1 yr loss of license for having no insurance on a vehicle? are...
► I have a car registered in my name and received a summons in the mail regarding a...
► 39-4 -105 failure to observe a traffic signal. The police officer was on a side...
► I was driving behind someone when they stopped in front of a cop car (who was...
► I got a d.w.i in 2008 and did everything required: suspension, idrc, and am now...
More Traffic Law questions and answers in New Jersey| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press