New Jersey  |  Traffic Law

question bubble
11/14/09, 10:09 pm

Legal Question


Hi,

I was travelling in a car as a passenger and my friend was driving it and a cop stopped us. My friend intentionally used my driving license as he didn't have his with him. And he used my identification. The cop found out and he came and asked me my name and i told my middle name & surname and not my first name. But he charged me. The summons he gave me reads "within jurisdiction of this court, with purpose to hinder the apprehension, prosecution, conviction or punishment of another, supply false information by identifying himself as middle name, surname to a law enforcement officer, in violation of N.J.S. 2C:29-3B(4).

Probabale Cause: Subject was a passenger in a MV, gave a improper name after driver used his identification.

At the bottom it says: "In violation of: Original Charge 2C:29-3A(7)."

Can you please let me know if this is a crime or just an offense? What are my legal consequences? I am not a citizen of this country and am working here. What would happen in the court? Will they leave me with just fine?


question bubble
11/19/09, 10:27 pm

Legal Answer


It is a crime, a misdemeanor but still a crime. If you plead guilty or are found guilty you will have a criminal record.

John Ducey

Law Offices of John G. Ducey, PC 200 Main Street, Second Floor Toms River, NJ 08753

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/20/09, 11:05 am

Legal Answer


If you are self-employed or work only jobs that are not worth having, you need to take the charge seriously because the charge alleges that you were complicit with the criminal conduct of another person.

Call me if you like.

Gary Moore

Gary Moore Attorney At Law 31 Mercer Street P.O. Box 1280 Hackensack, NJ 07602-1280

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/20/09, 2:26 pm

Legal Answer


This is a violation of the New Jersey Criminal Code and as such you would have a criminal record if convicted. If you also have immigration issues, then you certainly need an experienced criminal defense lawyer to assist you in this matter. I am an attorney who has handled many cases similar to yours in various courts throughout New Jersey in the past. Please contact me to discuss your case in more detail. I never charge for simply talking to a person about their case. Thank you.

Sincerely yours, -Ronald Aronds, Esq.-

www.njworkerscompensationlaw.com

Ronald Aronds

Law Office of Ronald Aronds, LLC 117A North Union Avenue Cranford, NJ 07016

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search