New Jersey | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
house left to me
Hi, I would like a second opinion on an issue. My fiance and I lived together for 4 years, the house was in his name only because of an issue, which was cleared up but after the closing. He passed away early this year. In his will he left the house to me. He was ill and did not have time to change the deed to both our names. His brother the executor will not sign the house over to me so I can get a new mortgage. There is about 25,000 in estate expences which he ran up in legal fees (he is an attorney). He wants to sell the house to pay those fees, I understand this is customary, but the family is very welthy and do not need my home worth 500,00 to satisfy a the bill. I have an attorney and it has turned into a slug feist .... I want to proceed with my mortgage but this is driving me nuts ....


