New Jersey  |  Wills and Trusts

Legal Question

Asked on: 7/11/13, 11:20 am

My husband and I divorced 1.5 years ago after 19 years of marriage. His aunt recently passed away and I had a good relationship with her. If Im mentioned in the will, is it mandatory that the executor get in touch with me? What if Im mentioned as husband and wife or by my married name?

3 Answers


Answered on: 7/11/13, 11:37 am by Jonathan Chester

IF the aunt was a NJ resident, AND she had a will, AND you were named in it...then once the will is probated, the executor must send you a "notice of probate" and a copy of the will.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Lindabury, McCormick, Estabrook & Cooper, P.C. 480 Morris Avenue Summit, NJ 07901

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/11/13, 11:46 am by Keith Singer

If you are mentioned in the will as a beneficiary the executor must contact you. If you think the executor or executrix may not recognize you by your married name or know where to find you then you should contact the executor or executrix to provide your contact information.If you can find out who the attorney for the estate is you should contact him or her as well. The above information may not be considered legal advice as there may be additional information to which I am not privy. Should you wish to discuss the matter further or desire my assistance please feel free to contact my office for an appointment.

Keith A. Singer 732-749-3700


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Keith A. Singer, Attorney At Law 1901 Route 71, Suite 3-E West Belmar, NJ 07719

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/11/13, 11:51 am by Robert Davies

what the other attorneys wrote is correct. I would need to see a copy of the Will to tell you what is going on, and you should be given a copy of that if you were named in the Will.

I can also explain to you how you can get a copy of the Will even if you are not given a copy.

I can explain things in detail in person after we talk. I will explain what legal issues I see, and what I can do to assist you.

This will be a free consultation. After we talk, you can decide what you would like to do.

Give me a call, make an appointment to come see me, and let's get moving on this for you. No charge for the telephone call and no charge for the first office visit.

Robert Davies, Esq. 201-820-3460

The Davies Law Firm, P.A.

45 Essex Street, Suite 3 West

Hackensack New Jersey 07601

Phone: 201-820-3459

Fax: 201-820-3461

Email: AttyRFD@optonline.net

Website: AttorneyRobertDavies.com

AND NOW THE DISCLAIMER:

Please keep in mind that my response is just a general comment on your question, and not legal advice. I have answered based upon the law of the State of New Jersey where I practice; the laws in other states may be very different, and may result in very different outcomes. Your question and any response does NOT create an attorney-client relationship between you and this law firm. The exact details of your situation and things that you have not mentioned in your question can completely change the response I gave. You can not rely upon what I have written as legal advice, because I do not have all of the information that I need to advise you, I only have the very small amount of information that you put into your question. To get legal advice that you can rely on and use, please contact me directly.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


The Davies Law Firm, P.A. 45 Essex Street, Suite 3 West Hackensack, NJ 07601

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

125 Answers given in the last few hours.

8663 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search