New Jersey  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
11/20/09, 8:44 am

Legal Question


If I had put money in to my boyfirends house & we break up, am I entitled to that money back?


question bubble
11/25/09, 9:11 am

Legal Answer


Unless there is something in writing, I'm afraid you will have a hard time getting your money back.

Jonathan Chester

Lindabury, McCormick, Estabrook & Cooper, P.C. 480 Morris Avenue Summit, NJ 07901

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/25/09, 11:06 am

Legal Answer


If you have documentation of your contribution, and he made representations that you would share in the ownership, you would have a decent chance to get your money back. If your relationship is still good, it would be better to get that acknowledgement from him in writing.

Richard Vallario

Richard W. Vallario Law Office 610 Franklin Avenue Nutley, NJ 07110

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search