Re: Reading of a will
If your mother resided in NJ, her will is probated [filed]in the office of the Surrogate for the County where she resided.
Wills are not generally "read"; the person appointed as the personal representative in the will (sometimes called Executor or Executrix)presents the will for filing, and seeks to have Letters issued authorizing the personal representative to act on behalf of the estate.
The personal representative is required to give notice to all heirs and beneficiaries. Sometimes, as a courtesy, a copy of the will is sent with the notice, otherwise, each heir or beneficiary may view the will in the Surrogate's office.
If the personal representative will not send you a copy of the will, either with the notice to you or upon your request, you may contact the Surrogate's Office to request a copy.
You need to be present only if you are the person named as personal representative.
If you do not receive a notice about the probating of the will, you may wish to contact an estates attorney in the county where your mother resided.
My NJ Office: Suite 412, Stationhouse, 900 Haddon Avenue, Collingswood NJ 08108; Telephone: 856-858-7775.