New Jersey  |  Wills and Trusts

Legal Question

Asked on: 2/05/12, 5:07 am

Can a surviving spouse change a will that names that spouse a trustee?.

4 Answers


Answered on: 2/05/12, 7:32 am by Miriam Jacobson

NOONE can change a will of a deceased person.

THIS RESPONSE IS NOT LEGAL ADVICE, SINCE I DO NOT HAVE ALL OF THE INFORMATION THAT WOULD BE REQUIRED, AND I DO NOT HAVE A REPRESENTATION AGREEMENT WITH YOU.

* If the answers to your question confirm that you have a valid issue or worthwhile claim, your next step should almost always be to establish a dialog with a lawyer who can provide specific advice to you. Contact a lawyer in your county or township.

* Another reason for contacting a lawyer is that it is often impossible to give a good answer in the Internet Q&A format without having more information. The unique circumstances of your situation and things that you may not have thought to mention in your question may completely change the answer. If you want to be sure that you have a complete answer to your question and an understanding of what that answer means, establish a connection with a lawyer who practices in the area of your concern.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Miriam N. Jacobson 1900 JFK Blvd. Suite 1519 Philadelphia, PA 19103-1431

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 2/05/12, 5:59 pm by Ronald Cappuccio

Absolutely! The survinng spouse will definitely want a new Will and Estate plan because of the changed circumstances. You should immediately contact an estate and tax attorney.

Ron Cappuccio

www.SaveYourEstate.com

856 667-8844


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Ronald J. Cappuccio, J.D., LL.M.(Tax) 1800 Chapel Avenue West, Suite 128 Cherry Hill, NJ 08002

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 2/06/12, 6:42 am by Antoinette Wooten

Anyone can change his or her own will, not anyone elses. There are various exceptions to that, such as allegations of fraud, duress, etc, but that's all done at the litigation stage.

Marcel Florestal, Esq.

Senior Counsel,

The Wooten Legal Consulting, PC


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


The Wooten Legal Consulting, PC 233 Broadway/ The Woolworth Bldg. New York City, NY 10279-0599

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 2/06/12, 8:11 am by Larry Raiken

Chnages can certainly be made. Please contact my office to discuss your situation.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Larry S Raiken LLC 170 Changebridge Road Montville, NJ 07045

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

70 Answers given in the last few hours.

86611 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search