New Mexico  |  Business Law

question bubble
11/10/10, 1:37 pm

Legal Question


I bought a car about a month ago. When i bought this car, the deal was that i was going to get an aditional $6,500 back in a form of a check. The dealership told me that i needed to bring in $1,000 for a down payment. I borrowed the money from a friend, and took it in to the dealership, with the intent of paying him back when i got the $6,500 check back. I got a reciept from the manager with my name on it. When it came time to give me the check, they only wrote it out for $5,500. When i asked why i was only given that much, they told me that the friend i borrowed the money from owed them $1,000 and they were going to keep that thousand from my deal to pay off his debt. My friend is nowhere on my contract and i dont understand why they took the money that was owed to me to pay off his debt. Is that legal, can they do that?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search