New Mexico | Insurance Law
Legal Question
Last year FEMA rezoned my neighborhood as a high flood risk area. Citibank, who owns one of our mortgages, required that we purchase very expensive flood insurance for their loan. My husband and I complied. This year Citibank wants us to purchase flood insurance for both of our mortgages, even the one that is owned by another bank. They said if we don't comply, they will make an estimate of what we owe of the non-Citibank owned loan and charge us flood insurance payable through Citibank's mortgage. Is this legal?


