New Mexico | Constitutional Law
Legal Question
HI, im 17 and live in an apartment complex albuquerque, new mexico. while being locked out after forgetting my keys, i decided to lay down and sleep outside my door on a mat i had purchased until my parents returned and let me in. is this illegal? could i be charged for this? ive seen many homeless men sleep publicly outside supermarkets and on streets and so assumed it would be no big deal especially since my parents pay montly rent for the place. i got to thinking though, maybe i should get up or i could be taken to jail since im almost a legal adult and new mexico has anti panhandling laws for the homeless men. plus the only way anyone could have seen me would have been for them to deliberately walk towards my door. nevertheless id like to know what my legal rights would have been had i been approached by an officer of some sort. thank you for your time and consideration to my question.


