New Mexico  |  Constitutional Law

question bubble
7/31/09, 1:45 am

Legal Question


Is it legal for a DEA agent to walk into my backyard and look through my windows if I have never been contacted by him and if I am not doing anything illegal and wasn\'t even home at the time?


question bubble
8/05/09, 6:03 pm

Legal Answer


Technically it is trespassing, but probably not one the District Attorney will prosecute or that the courts would impose a penalty for. Your best bet is to file a formal complaint with DEA internal affairs if you feel strongly about the agent's actions. Your best advice is to let it go as no harm came to you and you undoubtedly have better things to do than hassle with the DEA.

Charles Aspinwall

Charles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLC PO Bx 984 Los Lunas, NM 87031-0984

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search