New Mexico  |  Consumer Law

question bubble
10/26/09, 12:28 pm

Legal Question


I ran my 3 free credit reports - one agency reported 3 debts that have been paid off and the creditor has said that these debts were paid off - one of the credit agencies will not take these debts off my report - do I have any recourse?


question bubble
11/03/09, 11:17 am

Legal Answer


You may send the credit agency a letter clearly explaining the debts have been paid, and include a copy of any supporting evidence such as receipts, a letter from the creditor, etc. Send the letter by certified mail, return receipt, and be sure to keep a copy for your files. The agency is not obligated to remove the information from your credit history, but is required to provide a copy of your letter to any other creditor inquiring about your credit status, and advise them that the listed items are disputed.

Charles Aspinwall

Charles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLC PO Bx 984 Los Lunas, NM 87031-0984

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search