New Mexico  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
8/05/09, 6:10 pm

Legal Question


can an auto tow company lean anything else besides the car they have in their possesion.


question bubble
8/11/09, 11:13 am

Legal Answer


A motor vehicle which is towed for legal reasons is subject to a lien by the towing company for the towing charges. This lien includes the contents of the motor vehicle. The lien is one of possession, meaning the towing company must have possession of the motor vehicle for the lien to attach. The lien does not attach to any other item which is not within or a part of the towed vehicle.

Charles Aspinwall

Charles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLC PO Bx 984 Los Lunas, NM 87031-0984

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search