New Mexico  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
2/23/10, 5:49 am

Legal Question


My checking account was frozen on account of my wife had not paid a bill. A law firm was hired on behave of the creditor and the law firm froze the account. Do I have any legal recourse that I can take? I have my own bills to pay and cannot do so because I cannont access the funds.


question bubble
2/28/10, 11:48 am

Legal Answer


Law firms cannot freeze accounts. Only a court judgment will allow a garnishment, and then only for the amount of the judgment. You may well be liable for your wife's bill, as NM is a community property state and spouses are libel for the necessary bills the other incurs. Probably your only remedy at this point is to pay the bill.

Charles Aspinwall

Charles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLC PO Bx 984 Los Lunas, NM 87031-0984

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search