New Mexico  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
9/06/09, 10:19 pm

Legal Question


Can a company continue to collect on a debt (auto loan) through a lawyer if the vehicle was voluntarily surrendered? If so, for how long?


question bubble
9/13/09, 11:29 am

Legal Answer


Normally such vehicles are auctioned off at low prices, and the borrower still owes the balance of the loan less the price the vehicle brought. With or without the financed motor vehicle, the loan must be paid in full, so payments must be made for so long as that takes.

Charles Aspinwall

Charles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLC PO Bx 984 Los Lunas, NM 87031-0984

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search