New Mexico  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
1/30/10, 2:41 pm

Legal Question


a homeowner is one month behind on the mortgage but has been making it for a long time. now a neighbor has asked to lease the property for some time. what happens to the lease if the homeowner does have to let the place go.


question bubble
2/04/10, 3:41 pm

Legal Answer


The lease would then be void under the circumstances you describe, as the lessee cannot gain any greater right then his lessor (owner) has. If the lessor (owner) goes, the lessee must also go.

Charles Aspinwall

Charles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLC PO Bx 984 Los Lunas, NM 87031-0984

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search