New Mexico  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
7/27/09, 8:13 pm

Legal Question


I received a billing for an ER visit over 2.5 years ago. At the time I went in to the hospital, additional costs owed where never discussed with me. I've never received any prior bills from this hospital for these services. Is this a valid collection?

I had in my head that if medical bills weren't billed originally within a set amount of time, they were lost. This bill even states that they only found it going through a review of billing records.


question bubble
8/03/09, 3:18 pm

Legal Answer


Under the facts you state the bill is valid. There is no set time within which a bill must be submitted relative to the date of service. The statute of limitations does not preclude the collection of the bill you describe. Your best advice is to contact the institution, get a complete itemized billing, and negotiate a settlement to protect your credit and possible further legal complications.

Charles Aspinwall

Charles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLC PO Bx 984 Los Lunas, NM 87031-0984

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search