New Mexico  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
11/04/09, 12:05 am

Legal Question


i was convicted of escape from custody a felony in 1991 i was giving a 18 month deffered sentence,,in 1992 i recieved a satisfactory discharge from probation..in 2001 i was giving a dismissal from the sentencing court....why am i being told i cannot carry or purchase a fire arm..


question bubble
11/09/09, 11:49 am

Legal Answer


Because federal law does not recognize deferred sentences under state law. You were convicted of a felony and a penalty (probation) was imposed. You are therefore a convicted felon and a "prohibited person" under federal law, and may not lawfully possess a firearm, explosive device or ammunition.

Charles Aspinwall

Charles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLC PO Bx 984 Los Lunas, NM 87031-0984

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search