My husband has just been arrested for agrevated assault with a deadly weapon. For a first time offense what is the prison term?
1 Answer from Attorneys
The crime is a fourth degree felony, the maximum jail time for which is 18 months. A fine is also possible. If the person charged has no prior criminal history, it is possible to avoid jail in several ways in NM, including probation, deferred sentence and conditional discharge. If your husband does not have a lawyer he surely needs one now. Get one. Do not hesitate. This kind of charge is definitely not do-it-yourself.
Related Questions & Answers
How long can i sit in jail without a court date? after i've been arrained. Asked 1/16/13, 2:03 pm in United States New Mexico Criminal Law
I've failed to comply with a sentencing of community service twice already and an... Asked 1/07/13, 4:11 pm in United States New Mexico Criminal Law
Are the statute of limitations still in effect and honored Asked 12/29/12, 4:23 pm in United States New Mexico Criminal Law
I have a trial for shoplifting $250<. The officer copied down my name wrong and... Asked 11/26/12, 2:41 pm in United States New Mexico Criminal Law
Can a felon hunt deer with a crossbow in New Mexico after being convicted of... Asked 11/09/12, 7:07 pm in United States New Mexico Criminal Law