New Mexico | Criminal Law
Legal Question
I was recently caught shoplifting at a wal mart and my 14 yr old sister in law was with me. They did not catch the shoplifting on camera but by one guys sight only. He says she was actively participating in the act but she wasn't. She was only playing with my girls. So I was arrested and charged with contributing to the delinquency if a minor (4th degree felony) and shoplifting. Is there any way may public defender( when I get one) will be able to get them to drop the felony charge?? I totally admit to the shoplifting but the contributing charge is wrong. I have two young children and my husband can not afford for me to go to jail. This is the first time I've ever been in trouble. I live in nm


