New Mexico | Criminal Law
Legal Question
I recently lost my job for stealing i was not arrested at the time however my father was looking up my name at the court house and found that i have a warrent out for my arrest and im not sure what to do
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Dennis W. Montoya |
The best thing to do is to hire a criminal defense lawyer to get the warrant for your arrest "quashed" (cancelled). The case will then proceed forward to either a trial or a plea and disposition agreement, unless your lawyer can find a way to get the case dismissed.
The next best thing to do is to get in touch with the Court and make arrangements to go in front of the judge without an attorney to ask that the warrant for your arrest be quashed. The judge is probably going to want to know why you got a warrant for your arrest. Chances are that you did not receive notice that you were charged and had to appear in court. If that is what happened, that is what you should say. Otherwise, just tell the truth about what happened. After you take care of the warrant, the case must proceed to a trial, unless you work out an agreement with the prosecutor or find a way to get the case dismissed.
The worst thing to do? Do nothing. That warrant will remain active forever and you can be arrested at any time - usually when you least expect it. |
Top Attorneys in NM
Charles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLC
Los Lunas, NM
Questions Answered: 3300
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
The Law Offices of Dennis W. Montoya
Rio Rancho, NM
Questions Answered: 43
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-22
Turner Law Office
Deming, NM
Questions Answered: 23
Last Question Aswered on: 2001-09-17
The Kassakhian Law Office
Gallup, NM
Questions Answered: 13
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-15
Khayoumi Law Firm
Albuquerque, NM
Questions Answered: 9
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-28
BIKHMAN & VINBAYTEL PC
Brooklyn, NY
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
New Mexico Legal Group, P.C.
Albuquerque, NM
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Rudolph B. Chavez, Attorney at Law
Albuquerque, NM
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


