New Mexico  |  Family Law

question bubble
10/19/09, 7:32 pm

Legal Question


My daughter (27) and her boyfriend (31) are expecting a child in March 2010. This appears to be a permanent relationship. What rights does the boyfriend have regarding the child? Should they later marry will he have to adopt the child? How should they best proceed to protect everyone's rights?


question bubble
10/24/09, 11:16 pm

Legal Answer


Paternity is presumed if his name is put on the birth certificate as the father. Paternity can be established in a paternity suit which recognizes several tests for paternity. Father will have all the rights and responsibilities of a parent including custody, visitation, and child support.

If it's permanent why don't they just get married? Makes life simpler for the kid.

George Chandler

George Chandler Law 1208 9th Street Los Alamos, NM 87544

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search