New Mexico  |  Family Law

question bubble
12/10/10, 6:04 pm

Legal Question


My husband and I live in New Mexico, married over 7 years. He moved out 22 months ago, had an affair, and went back and forth between her and me. He told me he wanted a divorce 9 months ago. He is an attorney (not practicing), and CEO of tech holding company he co-founded before we married. Everything is in his name. He bought our house 3 months before we married, maxed out the equity and holds the second mortgage, I signed as grantor. He has a lot of credit card debt also. He has continued to pay my expenses. He made $136,000 last year. He drafted a MSA, has his own attorney, and wants to file uncontested. His proposal is to quit claim the house to me, alimony in cash $2,700 per month for 5 years, and will pay the first and second mortgages to zero ($1,600 a month considered alimony also) if I give up my rights to his company stock. He won't disclose any financial information to me, give me access to any accounts and now says he won't pay for my attorney. I haven't worked in 4 years. He lies about everything, knows all the tricks of the trade and he's stalling. He has painted pictures of me to everyone that I am not mentally stable. What EXACTLY is he up to?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search