New Mexico  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
2/13/02, 11:43 am

Legal Question


Slander?

I'm a Director in a small University in NM. One of my Managers recently terminated an employee. This ex-employee is spreading rumors that I was showing favoritism to this Manager because I was having an affair with her. The ex-employee told this to HR and my supervisor (who, in my opinion, initially supported the view until I explained my medical condition). This rumor is not true, furthermore I recently (18 months ago) had a brain tumor removed that impacted my Endrocrine system and am currently under a doctors care for impotence. This situation has caused problems at home and at work.

What recourse do I have against the University, my supervisor for openly discussing this in a staff meeting and the terminated employee?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search