New Mexico  |  Health Care Law

question bubble
1/11/10, 4:32 pm

Legal Question


I am a 22 year old woman who just recently became sexually active for the first time a few months ago. As a result, I went in search of a form of birth control that I'd be comfortable with. I found a doctor who prescribed me a pill, which I've been on now for 4 months, with no problems and no side effects of any kind. I couldn't be happier about that. However, my doctor is now saying that she will NOT give me any more prescriptions for the pills unless I have a pelvic exam (Pap Smear and Breast Exam). Naturally, the thought of this is is not just distasteful...for me, it's down right violating, and I absolutely do not want to have this done at this point in my life. My question is...Does my doctor have the legal right to deny me birth control, simply because I wont submit to having this exam?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search